To cut or not to cut? Please help!

SweetD

Hello ladies,

I am a newbie. I have 4a or 4a/b coarse relaxed hair. Periodically I experience breakage in the middle and back of my hair up to the new growth. (My hair dresser says this is because I wear my hair in one a lot.) The front of my hair is long and the back is short which has been the case for some time now. The front of my hair used to cover the breakage in the back but for the past 2 years my ends have thinned. When I wear my hair down it is noticeable that the middle is not full and looks thin.:sad: I don’t know what to do.:sad:

I am 8 weeks post relaxer. I have an appointment to relax and cut my hair tomorrow. I would like to stretch longer. CW and DC would help with that. My hair is a little past shoulder length.

Should I cut the thin ends? Should I cut up to the breakage which would mean mid neck or should I just wait for it to grow back? I have learned so much since finding this site in April. Any advice would be appreciated.

ETA: Added some pictures below.

Last edited:

Mook's hair

Hi,
WELCOME to LHCF!:wave:

If the thin ends look bad to you then go ahead and cut it up to the breakage and start from that point.

Do you have any photos you can post so that we can have a visual of how it looks. We are often our own worst critics it might not look as bad as you think it does.

Have you considered getting your hair braided or cornrowed and keeping it that way for about 2 or 3 weeks to prolong the stretch? That might help. along with daily scalp massages.

Maybe you should only relax the damaged part every other touch up.
When you go to the salon for your touchups you should put some oil on your relaxed length ahead of time to protect from over processing.

You should check out DSylla's fotki for inspiration she actually keeps the back part of her hair shorter but you can't even tell.

I hope you will also get more responses.

Neala21