Trimming natural 4B hair??

HairFanatic01

Hello everyone. I have been wearing cornrows on and off for almost two years and I was wondering if it was necessary to trim the ends of my natural 4B hair after my stylist blow-dries it? My stylist says I don't need it because I have too much new growth in with the relaxed hair. PLZZZ HELP!!

TinyT

I don't understand is all your hair natural or relaxed? You said ends of natural 4b hair, but then you said something about new growth and a relaxer. Just trying to get a clear picture.

Tracy

HairFanatic01

Sorry for the misunderstanding.......
I mean my hair is almost completely natural. I guess m ends are relaxed. So yeah I guess I'm in the transitioning stage.

TinyT

ok...I get it. Well so here's the plan of attack.

If you are trying to trim more relaxed ends off, the easiest way to do this is to wet the hair and then trim, that way you can clearly see where the natural hair is and the relaxed hair is. Cause when i chopped the first time, I still had relaxed ends that i didn't couldn't see when my natural 4b hair dried. Cut off as much as you feel comfortable with. The way I did this was to section my hair in 4 sections and put each in a bun and clip it. Then take down one section, and part it into smaller section and clip as much as you want. if your hair starts to dry, just mist the section with a spray bottle. After you finish the section, pin it back and do the others.

Once you are completly natural there are different ways to trim. There is the twist and trim technique: basically put hair in 2 strand twists with damp hair, and when they dry, trim the ends of each twist. Now because some hair strands curl up more, the hair may not be exactly even, but if you aren't blowdrying, that probably isn't necessary.