Trimming Question

KinkyCurly

I am a newbie and I am thoroughly enjoying this site. I just read about NayNay's horrible hair experience and it got me thinking about trimming hair. I tried to trim my own hair about a month ago. As you can guess, without experience, or know how it didn't go too well--but at least the ends are free of splits.

My question is this. Who trims your hair? Could I teach a friend to do the trim? What technique do you use?

KinkyCurly

Peachtree

Hi KinkyCurly

Welcome to the board

Dear, I am one of those "self trimmers" & I know that Supergirl is too

My technique is really short & to be honest, there really isn't much thought that goes into it...

1) After applying leave in conditioner to my freshly washed hair, I section the hair in 4's (2 on each side), sometimes 6 (3 on each side) sections

2) Hold sectioned hair between fingers

3) In 1 steady motion, trim away the "see through-ish" ends.

It's not pretty, but it works for me

I'm sure other's have better techniques.

Armyqt

Welcome KinkyCurly
. I'm a self duster, I let my mom do the trims. I just take sections of my hair, like when rollersetting, and dust offf a very small amount. basically it's cleaning up the ends a lil without taking too much off. This way there isn't a ntoiceable difference in the length of the hair overall and it keeps the hair looking healthy. I do this as needed and try to avoid trims as much as possible. I always do this on dry hair. hth

KinkyCurly

Hello ladies and thank you for the responses. I am definitely leaning toward continuing to do my own trims. I did it before on my hair after it was blow dried. Armyqt do you flat iron the hair first? And Peachtree do you just dust a bit off of the hair when it is wet?

Armyqt

No I don't flat iron the hair first. I try to let it airdry and then section small sections like doing a rollerset.

sylviaetc