Trouble being happy for others...prayer please?

BreeNique

Hello, ladies!

I'm a college student, and almost always surrounded by folks who I'm CERTAIN are gonna end up on posters and in the news and MAKING the news, and doing what God has called them to do. Anyway, lately I don't like hearing the good news og God's blessings from folks, I feel down about myself, and get somewhat depressed. I noticed this not too long ago, and have been praying for God to help me not "knock" the blessings he gives to His children, and to be happy for them. But sometimes their amazing (earthly) accomplishments get to my core, and I feel rotten. I know that's not of God, that's pride and envy. Anyway, any tips on how I can remember to be happy for others, the way others are happy for me, and the way God is happy for me? It's to the point where I don't like asking people how they're doing, because I know they've got so much going for them, and I've even stepped back away from some friendships.

Thoughts?

diadall

I am interested in hearing some thoughtful advice but I applaud you for your honesty and quest for betterment.

loolalooh

As human beings, it is in our nature to feel envious of others who are doing well, especially if things are not going so well in our own lives. The best advice I can give is to remember why we are here. Remember that our spiritual walk and growth are far more important than any earthly accomplishment.

Laela (one of our members) posted a great thread touching on this subject; it discusses a man who was upset because his fellow coworker received a promotion that he (the man) thought he deserved. (Here is the thread.)

I suggest that you read that thread, read the book of Romans, and talk to God. Remember Matthew 6:19-20: