What is the difference between DC and regular Conditioner?

lovelexi

I have been searching for a good DC that i can find in a drugstore or local beauty store. I just bout the nexxus DC but it was in such a tiny bottle. i also saw that they had the regular conditioners in huge bottles. if i use regular conditioner as a DC will there be any difference? or is it all the same stuff?

arosieworld

Thanks 4 our nail *****!
There are regulars that I dc with or mixing with something else to dc. I don't know what the difference is but I love to mix the HELTR in the red bottle with honey and olive oil for a serious DC. I used to use it when I was natural but I texlaxed a few days ago and haven't used that mix on this hair.
bump

lovelexi

i figured there was no real difference except DCs have a thicker consistency than regular conditioners. i've never tried honey before...for some reason i have this strange feeling that i will get this thick gooey mess on my hair :ohwell:

Americka

Instant Conditioners

There are three main conditioners; instant, deep penetrating and leave-in. Instant Conditioners are applied to the hair and then rinsed out after a few minutes. They attempt to smooth the cuticles and coat the hair shaft to make the hair look shiny and healthy. They work by coating the cuticle with a microfilm coating, usually a wax, that fills in or lays down the cuticle to make it shine and/or easier to detangle.

However, artificially laying down the cuticle will only provide a temporary fix. If you really want results, you need to deep condition with a penetrating conditioner. Deep conditioners use natural body heat or artificial heat from a hood dryer to lift the cuticle and penetrate the cortex.

Deep Penetrating Conditioners

There are two main types of deep or penetrating conditioners; moisture and protein.

Protein based conditioners are designed to increase the diameter of the hair with a coating action. This will strengthen the hair and add body.