Anyone Here Relax at 8 weeks or under?

LadyJ76

I am new to stretching my relaxers and am doing it by adding a week or two to every new stretch. The last relaxer I had I was only able to make it to 8 weeks (which is good for me.) But I had a lot of shedding. I could hardly get the comb through my roots for the last two weeks and every time I washed I lost a lot of hair. Is there anyone here who has managed to grow their hair and maintain its health by relaxing at 8 weeks or less? I wanted to stretch this time to 9 or 10 weeks but it won't be worth it if I shed the way I did before.

nicki6

Eight weeks is my maximum because the shedding will increase dramatically. I tried several times to stretch further, but my hair was NOT having it:nono:

CoCoGirl821

This last time I stretching my relaxer I didn't get as much shedding (depending on the day), however, my hair has grown a lot faster(making the stretch more difficult). I would recommend not trying to comb your hair as much. I try to only comb when I am washing my hair using a wide tooth comb. This really cuts down in the shedding and breaking. Also doing roller sets and finding the perfect moisture and protein balance has really helped me. I am about 8 weeks post and I am trying to go for 9(we will see how that goes). But you should listen to you hair first before you listen to anyone else.

shocol

This is me! Ever since I joined LHCF in August, I can't make it past 8 weeks without a relaxer. Yesterday, I did something that is a no,no. I relaxed after 5 weeks. Why? I started using MSM and biotin and my newgrowth was out of control.

AKA-Tude

Sometimes I have under 8 wks even tho 8 wks is my limit ( I usually encounter much shedding if I go any longer).

Plus w/ using MN, waiting any longer than 8 wks was torture.

But with the newfound (for me) henna treatments, I can go a bit longer btwn retouches.

LadyJay114