Chi Silk Infusion-Heat protectant or not?

Is Chi Silk Infusion a heat protectant?

• Yes, it protects against heat

Votes: 98 72.6%
  • No, some people are mistaken. It is NOT a heat protectant

Votes: 37 27.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

tiffers

Whisper "bleep boop" to yourself when you're sad.
I've read a few posts where people say CSI is not a heat protectant. Then I read posts where people say they love it, and it's the best heat protectant :confused:

The bottle doesn't say it's a heat protectant- and in none of the product descriptions I've read online does it say it is a heat protectant.

So does it protect against heat, or does it just make your hair look purdy?

InnerSoul

Yep, the stuff is great. I used this when I used to relax. I personally think its a heat protectant.. but I am no expert.:look:

Last edited:

charmtreese

It's a leave-in with silk proteins to help strengthen your hair. If you use it with heat (ie blowdrying or hood/bonnet dryer) the silk proteins will penetrate better (so it's not really used for airdrying).

I do not use it as a heat protectant. :nono:

stinastina

There was a thread last year on the science of how the cones bond to your hair during the heating process to protect it. Sorry I couldn't find it.

sunshinebeautiful

I use it all the time as a heat protectant. :look:

ETA: An old member that studied science wrote this long, very informative thread about how CSI and its role as a heat protectant. I can't find the thread either.

Last edited:

sunshinebeautiful

It's a leave-in with silk proteins to help strengthen your hair. If you use it with heat (ie blowdrying or hood/bonnet dryer) the silk proteins will penetrate better (so it's not really used for airdrying).

I do not use it as a heat protectant. :nono: