Ditching the LF wig....a story that will inspire - I hope

coyacoy

:yep::yep:
hi ladies!
.......so i just wanted to share my experience emerging from the LF wigs I've been rocking since August 2009 when i started my transition to natural hair. while i used the wigs to transition, i somehow had gotten into the habit of wearing one all day! i would switch to my "home" wig in the evening :nono:......i somewhere along the line ditched that practice, thank goodness, but the damage had been done re: i had become so reliant on the wig for any semblance of a hairstyle. i kept one on religiously m-f during business hours and during any social event outside of work.

i realized that as a result of the heavy reliance on wigs that i really had no idea how to style my newly natural head of hair. so, i gradually began testing the waters (and various styles :drunk:) earlier this year by wearing my real hair out on the weekends - but even this was generally for short periods at a time - that is until last month when I traveled out of town for 7 days for a professional conference. During this time, i decided to ditch the wig completely!

i did this for three reasons 1) i had just simply grown sick of wearing wigs; 2) i was curious as to how well my current reggie would hold up when actually wearing my hair out for an extended period of time; and 3) i wanted to see how the business community would respond but w/o having to this "test" with my regular, daily colleagues.