Does thin ends = potential split ends?

growingbrown

My hair dresser told me that my ends are thin and that she needs to cut 1 inch off. :ohwell: What does thin ends mean? Can they become split ends? Should I let her cut? It took me 2 months to get 1 inch and now to cut. I just cut a total of 5 inches with 3 moths cause she said they were split???:cry3:
:scratchch This dont sound right!!!

Nayna

Unbothered
Inspect your strands. If they aren't split at the ends then no you don't need to cut them; some of your just grows faster or slower. If they are split then yes you need to cut them.

How do you care for your ends normally? Is your hair breaking?

Sianna

You should actually be able to look at the hair and see whether or not the ends are split.

I'm still a newbie so I don't have a wealth of advice, but I think that having five inches of hair chopped off within three months might be a bit much. And now she's talking about taking off another inch?! IDK... sounds a little iffy to me. :look:

I'd say visually inspect your ends and see how the strands are looking. If they're actually split you might want to go ahead and get them cut, but if not, I think it'd be okay to leave them be for now.

Good luck! I hope more experienced and knowledgeable women will chime in on this one to help you out!

Nonie

My hair dresser told me that my ends are thin and that she needs to cut 1 inch off. :ohwell: What does thin ends mean? Can they become split ends? Should I let her cut? It took me 2 months to get 1 inch and now to cut. I just cut a total of 5 inches with 3 moths cause she said they were split???:cry3:
:scratchch This dont sound right!!!

Thin ends is what happens when split ends have come and gone.