Going to Give Braids Another Try...Questions

hairfanatic

For those of you that are long time braid wearers please tell me.

1) How long have you been wearing braids
2) Do you use synthetic or Human Hair?
3) How often do you wash?
4) What moisturizing spray do you use?
5) Do you braid back-to-back or let your hair breath for a month or two (very important question)
6) What problems have you had wearing braids, if any?

Faith

Hi hairfanatic,

1. I have been braiding for 3 years now. But off and on for about 15 years now.
2. I use synthetic, I used to use human hair but I discovered the synthetic hairs were being made just as soft so...
3. I wash 1x a week with Better Braids shampoo spray
4. I moisturize with my glycerin/water mix (4oz glycerin: 12oz h20)
5. I do braid back to back sometimes.
6. I find that I can't seem to escape dirting clumping in the braids around my hairline (front and back).

hairfanatic

Hi Faith,

Thank you for the reply. I love the length of your hair. /images/graemlins/smile.gif Where did you start (in length) to reach where you are now. So you just use glycerine and water and no oils? Do you spray everyday? Sorry for all the questions

Faith

Hey hairfanatic,
No problem ,ask away.
I started with 1/2" of hair November of 99. And as of October 12th 2002 my hair is about 1/2' past the top of my bra strap...about 24' from front hairline. I use the glycerin/water mixture and I oil my hair and scalp Sun, Tues and Thursday. I wash every Saturday.

Onyx

1)I've been wearing braids for 2 years this Nov.
2)I've used both types of hair. Currently I use synthetic (kanekalon or toyokalon) and will until I finish growing my hair out with braids
3)I wash every 2 weeks
4)When I do use moisturizing products, it's braid spray and that might be once or twice a week (occasionally) and I usually mostly put it on the length of the braids and not the scalp