Help...I have to do my OWN hair for my wedding!

Leslie_C

Ladies....please help me out. Im style challenged as it is and of course I want my hair to look nice on my wedding day. The problem is....the wedding is in our home town in TN and to my knowlege there arent any black hairdressers there. The only one I know of moved away. The wedding is in March, so I thought if I started practicing now I could achieve the style I want by then. Would I be better off doing it myself or going to a white stylist (images of hairspray all over my hair). I want it to look something like this,
but I dont know how to get the curls (rollerset? curling iron?) and I especially dont know how to get them to hold. Of course I want shine and movement! Ill be wearing a tiara...not sure about a veil yet.

Basically what products, tools, and method do I need to ahieve this style?

Im open to other nice styles that would be easy to reproduce if you have pics! I personally just think I look way better with my hair down so Im leaning away from total updo's.

KinksnCurlz

*Disclaimer, I am NOT a professional :lol: *

You will need:

Medium sized curling iron
Heat protectant/serum/spritz
Med/firm holding spray
Clips (they sell those at drugstores)
Blowdryer (optional)

On clean straightened hair, take a small section, use the protectant, and wrap the hair around the curling iron (do not use the curling iron clamp). Pin curl each section after curling until you've done your entire head. Turn the blow dryer on and run the heat over your entire head for about 3-5 minutes. The heat helps "set" the curl.

After you've done your make-up (or whatever else you need to do), take the pins out. Take sections of the curled hair and pin them as you see them in the picture using wig pins or small bobby pins (that match your hair color). Do NOT use a comb to part your hair, as you will disturb the curls. Attach the clips (pictured) wherever you see fit.

Once you are done, spray your hair with the holding spray.