Help! my scarf is eating my nape!

moriahar

I'm still perfecting my regimen for healthy hair.
Over the years, I've noticed that my hair grows ok in the front and sides but there is always major breakage in the back. Even when I would get my hair professionally, the back was always my problem child!
I followed all of my stylists instruction for hair care. While my front and sides thrived, the back remained prone to damage

I've been doing my hair at home for the past 3 years. A few months back I stopped tieing my hair in a scarf and only slept on a satin pillow case. I notice that my nape area was finally beginning grow with out breakage. I returned to wrapping my hair at night in a satin scarf. Then I noticed that the breakage came back. I also noticed that while I am sleep my scarf rides up leaving my nape exposed. This is EXACTLY where the serious breakage is occurring.

I've tried wearing a satin bonnet instead of wearing a scarf. I did see an improvement as far as breakage goes, but my wrap had no shape.

I'm torn, I really like wearing my hair in a wrap, but I hate that my nighttime routine is eating away at my nape.
Is this happening to any one else?

Does anyone have any suggestions?

UGQueen

i noticed this in my college roomate last semester too. but her problem was becaue of the way she tied her scarf.

let me ellaborate a little when her scarf crosssed over in her nape she experiences breakage whereas when it crossed over in the front by her forehead her nape started to grow back. because then her scarf laid lat on her nape area. she bought a blam and tied her scarf the other way religously and we noticed a difference. (idk if that makes sense)

how do u tie yours?
and have you considered using a satin cap instead these are tighter with stretch and your wrap holds very well (kinda like a wig cap but bigger and its satin i find that these dont slip off either). HTH

Last edited:

moriahar