Help! Newbie: Relaxer transitioning to Natural or Texturizer

adebow

My last relaxer was 6 weeks ago. My hair is currently shoulder length and grows well with a relaxer. Since I've had a relaxer for the last 25 years (I'm only 37), I wanted to see my hair in it's natural state. I've been reading suggestions from LHCF for the last year and have tried some of the suggestions. I've been using Evoo, castor oil, coconut oil, glycerin, etc and I love the way my new growth feels much softer than usual. I've been using the flat iron to straighten my new growth (as a newbie, I'm limited with hair styles since I'm only used to styling straight hair). However, my actual hair feels very stiff. I have no body to my hair at all. I can deal with the "poofiness" of my new growth, but I really don't like lifeless and limp hair. I'm wondering if natural is for me or should I consider using a texturizer. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :wallbash:

TaurusAngel

bumping. I've been thinking of texlaxing lately myself. I'm not sure about going natural, but then again, you never know.

Napp

Ms. Nobody
in my experience texturizer made my hair really dry.like UNBELIEVABLY and UNNATURALLY dry. nothing moisturized it and resulted in alot of breakage. it got better over time but i lost quite a bit of hair.IMO texturized hair isnt similar to natural hair at all and i think its better to transition to natural first before trying the texturized route.

again this is just my opinion/experience.

adebow

in my experience texturizer made my hair really dry.like UNBELIEVABLY and UNNATURALLY dry. nothing moisturized it and resulted in alot of breakage. it got better over time but i lost quite a bit of hair.IMO texturized hair isnt similar to natural hair at all and i think its better to transition to natural first before trying the texturized route.

Your opinion and experiences are definitely welcomed.

adebow