I just got my first relaxer in 2 years!

pyxis777

I prayed and God answered by sending me this site!

A few weeks ago, I wrote asking you ladies whether I should continue pressing my hair or to get a relaxer: http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=73724

I decided to get a relaxer. My stylist who I have been going to since November told me that I would do well to get Affirm No-lye mild because I have a sensitive scalp and fine hair.

This morning I had my appointment. I was very nervous, but praying all the way b/c I have gotten some bad relaxers in the past. I was looking fly, to make sure that I got good treatment.

This is my first time getting a no-lye relaxer (to my knowledge :ohwell:). It worked out great! :grin: My scalp was only mildly irritated - despite my scratching too much this week - it had been 2 weeks since I got my hair washed. I tried not to scratch too hard...

She gave me a roller set that came out nice. My hair was perfectly processed - it still has life, but is not too dry (well, until she put some alcohol based spray for styling purposes afterwards :rolleyes: ). The rollerset gave it body and my hair has been swanging and bouncing around. I have NEVER had that happen to me in my entire life! Also, it is important to note that she did not try to CUT or TRIM MY HAIR! So I didn't even have to ask her to put the scissors down.

I'm so excited because not only did the relaxer go well, but for the first time in my life I know how to properly take care of my relaxed hair! (I guess the sad part about it is that in the past, I didn't even know that I didn't know how to take care of my hair... Did you get that? :p )

Now I'm back to the boards to look up rollersetting techniques. When I wash my hair I want my rollerset to come out so that my hair is soft not dry or crunchy!

Yay! Praise the Lord! :D

baglady215