I took it all OFF! Kind of long

yodie

I started playing around with wigs (FOR FUN) around 2005. Then, I had a nice head of healthy hair that I could put up in a bun. I found this board in 2006 and started trying this and that. My healthy hair disappeared quickly. I soon learned that some things work and some don't.

Anyway, I had to wear wigs because of damage. My hair grew and I tried new things. I'd wash, twist my hair and throw on a wig. Sometimes I neglected to check for growth and I won't even mention the many, many things I tried by name.

Wigs were an accessory and a necessity (AT TIMES). They're fun.
I moved onto tracks not to long ago. Loved it. Gave me different versatility, but all along, I missed my hair!! I used to hate wigs and weaves years ago and here I was! I had converted to a 24/7 wig/weave wearer.

Now, no disrespect to the ladies who wear tracks or wigs. I'm definitely a fan, but I noticed how so many women wore the same long, black weave. Even in church, I noticed that most of the women wore wigs or weaves.

I decided that I wanted to take it all OFF! I missed my own hair. I had developed a habit that wasn't necessarily benefitting my hair.

No one had seen MY hair since '05. I wasn't even used to dealing with it anymore. Now, I was about to go home to visit family and friends. I took the tracks out, henna'd/indigo'd, deep conditioned, pressed and curled my hair. I trimmed my ends but I knew my mom would shape it up for me. My stylist had already trimmed my hair in between my tracks, so it was pretty short, but definitely manageable. I was NERVOUS!! I hadn't worn my hair in four years and I didn't know what people would say, think, etc. Yes, I shouldn't care, but I did.