It's time for an alternative to protective styles

Supergirl

With Love & Silk
It\'s time for an alternative to protective styles

Alrightee now! For those of you that are doing your protective styles or thinking about it, don't let this frighten you. I have been wearing my protective styles very consistently since August 2002. I have probably worn my hair down 10 times since then and not more than that.

Well, the protective styles are taking their toll on my hair--I have some breakage in the back. It's not noticeable because it is in the bottom-most layer of my hair so the other hair covers it up but it still makes me unhappy
If you guys remember Leejure's bun-breakage pics, it's kind of like that.

I've done a good job varying up my protective styles so that one particular area wouldn't be stressed but I do think that constantly putting it up (no matter the variation) does affect that nape area.

So, give me ideas for un-protective protective styles. Maybe I should start doing braid-outs or just give it a break and wear it down. I'm almost at my goal anyway... HELP!

inthepink

Re: It\'s time for an alternative to protective styles

I think braidouts would be a wonderful non-heat alternative for you.

Also, you can still wear your hair up but maybe give buns a break? You can loosely pin your hair up with barrettes to keep your ends off your clothing.

How did you notice the breakage?

Supergirl

With Love & Silk
Re: It\'s time for an alternative to protective sty

Well, I just noticed that there were some shorter pieces back there on both sides. So, I lifted all of my hair up and then brought that nape section down with my fingers and sure enough it's shorter than the rest of my hair.

Supergirl

With Love & Silk

Oh and Hairlove,

What kind of pin or clip would you recommend for loosely pinning the hair?

inthepink

Supergirl,