Life Post protective styling

keelioness

Question: Are there any ladies that spent months or Years protective styling and still have a full lush head of hair to show for it? I have grown my hair out 3 times in 7 yrs but it seems like I can't get more than 9 months of swinging pretty hair. Have any of you ladies experienced long healthy hair for a long period of time post protective styling? Please share your experience/ advice

lamaria211

I wore wigs for 2 years (I still do) I went from a BC to apl in that time with minimal splits, ssks and hardly no breakage. Hth

pre_medicalrulz

It Always Been About Hair!
I've been wearing wigs for almost 1 1/2 years. I have yet to stop but I'm sure if and or when I do, I will have a little more breakage and a slower retention rate.

Leslie_C

Great question.

ITA...Im along the lines of thinking that especially with my fine type 4 hair, Ill end up having to protective style about 75% of the time in order to retain length. It seems like length is challenging to obtain, then it can be gone in a few short weeks or months with a setback from dryness/breakage.

Im slightly encouraged by my cousin who has never been relaxed and gets her hair pressed every 2 weeks (has since she was a preteen) and wears it down all the time and does no maintenance between salon visits other than serum...her hair is BSB. I remember one time when she was about 12 or 13 it was about waist length though.

leiah

I always thought I was protective styling with the goal of eventually wearing my hair out, but now that i've reached my goals, I still always wear my hair in a bun.

I wore my hair out for a few weeks this year and my growth stalled a little bit, but no major damage.

keelioness

Leslie_C said: