MAKING The Switch - Phytorelaxer & You

MissYocairis

Hi ladies! :perplexed I'm a newbie and love the board . I am four weeks post touchup. Been using Optimum Care for years. I'm reading a lot on LHCF about lye vs no-lye and the new Phytorelaxer. I'd like to stretch my relaxer to 12 weeks and get a formula that's better for my hair. Can someone shed insight on Phytorelaxers vs. a Lye formula for the health of my hair? Also, is it even possible for me to switch from no-lye to a lye formula without risking damage?

ms_kenesha

Kaddy is our resident Phytorelaxer expert, but I can tell you that I made the switch from Lye to the Phytorelaxer w/ no adverse effects. :up: Also, the Phytorelaxer is no-lye, but is a different chemical make up than the traditional no-lye relaxers.

MissYocairis

Thanks Kenesha. How do you like the phyto? How long did you stretch before you transitioned to phyto? (going to your Fotki albums). Your current length is where mine is currently. Aiming for the waist before it's all over! ;o)

KAddy

ms_kenesha said:
Kaddy is our resident Phytorelaxer expert

Thanks for the compliment Ms_K. I can't say I'm an expert though...not yet. :lol:

Anyhoo on to the topic at hand.

I think a lot of ladies are wondering what this "new" relaxer called PhytoRelaxer is. Let me first say that while it is not a new product on the market, it is fairly new to some of us here at LHCF. There are some ladies that have been using this relaxing system for more than a year with great results and feedback.

The PhytoRelaxer is a no-lye relaxing system that does not contain the drying agents that other no-lye relaxers contain. This is perhaps why those of us who use it love it and the softness that we experience. It contains natural ingredients that aid in the breaking down of the tightly curled texture of our hair. This relaxer has also been used by other racial/ethnic groups as well that too have experienced the similar results as us. Here is the info from the website: