My NATURAL HAIR WON'T STAY BRAIDED!

Beautytalk69

I'm really at the point of straight frustration. When I had a relaxer and I would braid my hair..it would last quite a while. When I first BCed I thought the reason my hair would frizz up in braids was because my hair was short. Now that I have a little bit of length (I think chin level hair is enough to braid) my hair is still a hot fuzzy mess in braids. So then I decided to add extensions..something. Now I have twist..and it's even worse. I'm really upset because I want this to be my protective style..but if I can't keep it presentable it would be a no go. Btw..I've been braiding hair for about ten years now..I don't think it's my skills (or lack of). None of the ladies that I have braided in the past have had this issue. I think I was just "blessed" with unbraidable hair.:ohwell:

faithVA

When I first BCed I thought the reason my hair would frizz up in braids was because my hair was short. Now that I have a little bit of length (I think chin level hair is enough to braid) my hair is still a hot fuzzy mess in braids.

I have this too. My braids look a month old after 7 to 10 days. I have seen people who have had their braids in for almost 2 months that looked fresher than mine. Hopefully, you can get some answers that will help.

I find that the softer and more moisturized my hair the more it frizzes. When my hair is dry and hard it looks perfect. :ohwell:

What is your braiding regimen?

How soon after you braid it does it start to frizz?

Beautytalk69

It depends if I'm adding hair or just braiding my own.
If it's with a weave I make sure i deep condition before. I just apply a little bit of leave in and start braiding.
If its with my own hair..I just braid it as is.

Girl my extension braid frizz within two weeks..my twist within days. I give up on the braids..think I'm going to do sew ins or wigs. (BUT I LOVE BRAIDS).

Iluvsmuhgrass