No lye to lye

Divine_Order

Have any of you switched from a no lye relaxer to a lye? I'm thinking of using a lye, but I've been using a no lye for 3 years now. For those of you who have switched, did you notice any ill effects? Thanks:)

Divine Inspiration

I went from no-lye to lye, and I have definitely gained thickness as a result. The only problem is that for me, lye relaxers lend themselves much more to texlaxing than no-lye does.

I'm thinking of switching back to no-lye so that I can process to 80% because 50-60% is about as good as it gets for me with lye.

LeNghtyDreAms

i switched this year, and my hair didnt break Its thicker, has more moisture, but... it starts to burn before i can actully get that bone straight look, i get more like 60% straight more of a texlaxed look.:ohwell: I like it though my hair is healthier and though not straight the curls are looser and easier to comb! So if you want the texurized look or you can get it done quickly and so your scalp isnt on fire, go for it!

*Frisky*

AlexB7 said:
Does hair break when you switch?

I didn't experience any breakage. I think the switch was really beneficial for me. I had more under processing and dryness issues with no lye.

BrooklynSouth

Burn to scalp{substitute beautician} from the no-lye to lye switch with my last touch-up but I do now prefer the LYE. My new growth has a 'lift' and a wavy pattern. My hair feels less dry also. I have had no hair loss from the switch. I have only had the one touch-up with the lye, so really cannot tell how my hair in total has benefited. The beautician did not overlap onto the older no-lye hair but shampoo assistant did not neutralize well. Next touch-up will be with my regular beautician with whom I never burned.

gimbap