Pressing Iron + HardHead= HELP!!!! (for my friend)

BonnieB

A close friend of mine who I love and adore is soo hard headed. I am no hair expert, however I know that a ceramic, ionic, tourmaline flat iron is safer to use on your hair (with a heat protectant) than using The " Feather Flat " Iron http://www.onetruemedia.com/otm_site/view_shared?p=606def4a7a363ec681889c&skin_id=1703&utm_source=otm&utm_medium=text_url
I wish she was not too embarassed to take a pic of her hair so that I could show you ladies what I am talking about but she air dried her hair after washing and used Smooth n Shine Silk n Smooth heat protectant mixed with CHI silk Infusion and her "stylist" used that iron to straighten her hair. It looked great, I can't fake the funk but now, 4 days later, she's calling me telling me how her hair is dry, shedding, and the ends seems to be splitting and looking extremely damaged.

Getting to the point, she wants to wash her hair, clip the ends, rollerset and straighten her hair again but safely this time. I don't think she should straighten her hair again so soon (she's 4? relaxed with 8 weeks stretched hair.. her newgrowth is managable). She asked me to ask you ladies "the pro's" as she calls yall, to chime in. I wish she would stop being a chicken and take a picture but :ohwell:.
Should she get a protein treatment and then proceed to straighten her hair or should she give her hair a break for now?

We thank you all in advance.
**Wait.. we have a pic (the punk gave in :look:) and her hair is dying to be saved. BTW her hair is naturally dry. Please help.

me 031.jpg

Last edited:

mscocoface

I would recommend she does some deep conditioning and possibly protein before she goes near another heating element.

The experts will chime in but she needs to get the breakage and dryness under control or she will just have more of the same and that won't be good.