PSing and your Hairline

Beautytalk69

I'm still somewhat new to this whole hair thing..so bare with me. I have noticed a lot of women wear their hair up for Protective styling and i was wondering how do you maintain a healthy full hairline? I'm currently doing braids as a ps and when I get length, I will be bunning. Do you ladies have any tips for me or anyone who wants to wear their hair up in a protective style as far as protecting their hairline?

I usually keep my hair in a bun. My hair line hasn't been affected by it because I don't pull it tight at all.

My hairline has taken a beating from my ps choices (weaving). Since now I braid my own hair, I'm very careful about the amount of tension my hairline gets (practically none) and now my hairline has greatly improved.

I alternate between buns and half wigs, the half wigs I remove daily, and moisturize my hairline daily, I also use gel daily,to smooth my edges, have not had any issues , I deep conditon at least once a week, when in half wigs my hair is usually in several plaits and tucked under, when bunning I do 4-5 days at a time, never leaving the bun in overnight,hth

Not sure what types of protective styles you are referring to. Some styles are more edge friendly than others. And if you are talking about adding extension hair that adds to the complexity.

As a previous poster mentioned, keep the tension on the edges to a minimum whether its your own hair or you have hair added to it. If you are natural, you definitely want to keep this area moisturized regularly. I would include massaging this area gently on a regular basis as well.

I typically don't pull on my edges but I don't try to achieve that straight smooth look in the front. My hair is so curly, trying to force it straight is tension in itself.