Question about Braid-outs

newbeginnings2010

Hey everyone! Technically, I'm not a newbie, but this is a new account. I used to be Wishin4BSL, and I'm now transitioning at just about 10 weeks post relaxer. Family and friends are extremely supportive, which is awesome. Most of them are natural as well. I'm still wishing for BSL but I'm too scissor-happy as a relaxed head, so I want to try for BSL stretched as a natural. Anyways, I did my first braid-out last night and I LOVE it! It's now my new favorite hairstyle! Now I'm wondering how to put it up at night. Should I just stick a bonnet on it or re-braid it tonight with moisturizer and/or oil before bed? Advice much appreciated. Thanks!

westNDNbeauty

On my youtube channel FAQ's video I show how I tie my hair as night, as braid outs are my primary means of low manipulation styling and I refuse to have to redo my hair before wash day. My braid outs last all week.

LadyRaider

WestNDNBeauty,

1. Why do you use nioxin in your braidouts?
2. How do you keep body during braidouts? My hair is always kinda stiff (I guess because of fluffy roots?)

NikStarrr

There are lotsa ways to "style" your braidout for sleep. I've done them all:

1. Just throw on a satin bonnet
2. Pin back the sides, not too tight (so that I can sleep on either side of my head on my satin pillow case)
3) Put in about 5-6 loose jumbo twists before putting on the satin bonnet. Don't worry, on natural hair the loose twists won't disturb the pattern of the braidout.

The loose twist method is what gets me the most wear.

Vonnieluvs08

I find if I let my braids "set" for a long time before I wear it out I don't have to manipulate it much through out the week.

I'm lazy and hate to do my hair before bed so most times I just put on my bonnet and tuck the ends. A few times I have twisted first and it still looked good. I can get about a week out of any out style if I let it "set" the first time and use some products that hold.