RANT: I bought a Pibbs 514 and it's still taking more than 2 hours to dry!!!

hillytmj

I am so upset right now! Actually, I've calmed down since 2 am when I finally shut the thing off and went to bed. :wallbash: I've tried the Pibbs on three occassions, and I'm estimating that it will still take 2.5 to 3 hours to get dry under there. To make matters worse, I put the heat on the highest temp (70) and I got some small sunburn like effect on my cheeks and neck.

I'm so frustrated because I went through a lot to get this thing - literally. The one positive thing I've experienced so far is that your hair does come out really soft and silky. It only takes about 1.5 hours to dry when I go to the salon, and I was hoping to get a similar time frame from the Pibbs 514 Kwik Dry.

How do you all get the quick, 1.5 hour dry times with the Pibbs? I've been rollersetting for almost two years now and my routine hasn't changed: apply leave-in, serum and right before I roll a section, I spray it with my water/setting lotion mix. I do the mohawk method and just moved up to the grey rollers.

Please help! I'm gonna take the Pibbs back to Sallys unless I get some encouragment or tips. Thanks!

Sorry to hear about your dryer woes. Never heard of anyone with a Pibbs and drying time of that length. Hopefully someone will chime in with helpful tips.

I am sorry to hear about your problems too because I plan to get the Pibbs for the reasons you got it and that's to cut down the drying time. I wonder if it's the particular unit you received ?

It's defective. Take it back.

It should not ever take that long to dry on 70 with a Pibbs 514. I was under the 514 at the salon last week and was dry in 40 minutes with the temp on 50 for 20 minutes and the I turned it down to 40 because my ears were burning.

I have the 512 at home and have never taken over an hour to dry. DH uses it too and even with his head full of long dreadlocks it does not take an hour for him to dry completely.