spin off on the no lye/lye relaxer debate...

BLESSED1

Okay, I'm sure we all have read the numerous posts about which is "better" to relax with, no-lye or lye perms. The biggest points that I've gotten from past posts is that #1 the No-lye ones aren't good because although they do a superb job straightening the hair they strip it of all of its moisture; and #2 the lye ones are best even though they sometimes don't straighten the hair as much as preferred but they are less drying/damaging to the hair. My question is, are their any exceptions to these "norms"? I used a lye perm one time and it damaged my hair so badly that I never went back to it. I've been relaxing using no-lye for about 18 years, and I never had a problem with dryness. Any one else? And any lye relaxer users suffering from chronic dry hair that they think may be due to their lye relaxer? List your hair type to please, as maybe that is a factor to different results

Tracy

absolutely. CaramelHonee uses a no lye. Allandra and Supergirl use Lye. Lindy uses a no lye...

It's all relative.

alliyah4eva203

there are always going to be exceptions. what might work for one might not work for the other.
it really just depends on the individual. the only person i can think of who hates no-lye is shamboosie. have you read that guys book? he acts like no-lye relaxers are the plague

kitchen_tician

I like LYE relaxers best. I use lots of oil so I don't experience too much drying. I tend to get more shedding from NO-LYE .

Tai

When I was relaxed, I always used no-lye. I had one lye relaxer and it broke my hair off so badly that I had to cut it all off, it was almost shoulder length, and start over. Now that I texturize, I still use no-lye. Lye just does not work for me at all. It does seem to me that most people who texturize end up using a no-lye product if I'm not mistaken.

Dolce_Dawn