The 'Proper' Way to Blowdry

butter_pecan

Hi guys. I just wondered if you all had any blowdrying tips. Usually when I blowdry my hair, it's really puffy and dry-looking. It looks bad until I flatiron it. My life would be so much easier if it were smoother after I finished.

I use a blowdryer -regular, not super hot, with a concentrator and a round brush for straighter parts of my hair; and a paddle brush for more difficult areas. I use heat protectant/serum (Redken Smooth Down Heat Glide? I believe that's the name of it).

So any products, drying techniques, etc., are greatly appreciated.

Muchas gracias chicas! :grin:

Last edited:

vkb247

I don't know much about using heat but I check out youtube for these type of tips so I can see it being done and see what type of results it gets.

Sonye93

(MY FIRST POST, YAY ME!)
I'm a newbie that has decided to finally stop lurking, but I may be of help. Umm, do you blow-dry with a comb attachment, or use a concentrator with round brush? People find that that works. Also, the products used beforehand may affect the outcome. Maybe if you listed what you use before blow-drying a hair guru will give more advice.

Hope you find your answer!

butter_pecan

(MY FIRST POST, YAY ME!)
I'm a newbie that has decided to finally stop lurking, but I may be of help. Umm, do you blow-dry with a comb attachment, or use a concentrator with round brush? People find that that works. Also, the products used beforehand may affect the outcome. Maybe if you listed what you use before blow-drying a hair guru will give more advice.

Hope you find your answer!

Good point! I'll edit my post

foxieroxienyc

My pic below is from Blowdrying, and I do it when I flat iron (and when I'm freshly relaxed for the first 6 weeks, NO flat iron following). My hair comes out pretty straight and I'm 4-ish relaxed, fine hair.