To comb or not to comb....

ZLUVSNEWZEE

So I was reading essence magazine yesterday and read an ariticle about transitioning. One of the tips to help transitioners was that hair should be combed daily to avoid tanglling. I have been going days without combing believing that the less I comb the better for my hair growth journey. Experts...which is accurate? Should I be combing daily or should I not be combing?

lana

I'm not an expert...but I did transition.
I remember very clearly posting on here that I went a week without combing my hair, just washing and bunning it without properly detangling and ended up with one long dred lock. So that's when I decided my hair needed a comb (lol) and I bought a denman brush.

I'm texlaxed now...I finger comb throughout the week and roll my hair. I only comb it to detangle it in small sections after washing/conditioning and applying a little serum on wet hair. Melts like butta through da comb. (I'm a 4a/b (mostly 4b) Mizani Lye Texlaxed BSL girl)

I hope this helps. The answer is: trial and error - do what works best for your head of hair.

ChristmasCarol

I'm no expert, but I only comb my hair when I co-wash every other day, or so. And only in the shower with lots of conditioner. Anytime I think my hair might be tangled, I jump in the shower. Earlier in my transition I co-washed every day. :yep: So, in a sense, I did comb every day.

IMO, combing dry transitioning hair would ultimately lead to severe breakage.

Foxglove

A drop of golden sun
Another one who only combed my hair on wash day. Combing daily would have caused breakage at the line of demarkation

manter26

I don't think daily combing is a good idea for anyone. What styles are people wearing where they have access to loose hair everyday. I think detangling on wash day (once a week) is sufficient for hair in any state (transitioning or natural).