What I learned at the beauty shop today!

keeshesfromindy

I was told to put heat on my hair, also my beautician said that just washing and not drying could cause my hair to break off. She told me to try roller sets. I do not mind, just a little scared. She told me what rollers and what clips to buy. She also told me to dry and flat iron, just don't put too much heat day in and day out. She also said that my hair is too different textures when it's wet, I guess applying a little heat will make it one(not sure about that). She also said it may help my hair from being too dry.
If anyone has any comments about this please tell me what you think.
Keeshes

I have never heard that washing and not drying will cause your hair to break. I can only see that happening if you are not gentle with your wet hair. I have been airdrying for at least 5 years now and have no problems with breakage. That's my personal experience.
smile.gif

I don't agre with this part:

[ QUOTE ]
I was told to put heat on my hair, also my beautician said that just washing and not drying could cause my hair to break off.Keeshes

[/ QUOTE ]

She's right of course about not applying heat daily but I certainly don't think it's a MUST after washing.

Very interesting. I read on one of the now defunct hairboards (actually I think it's pay-per-view now) that flat ironing,applied properly, can be like a hot-oil-treatment. I press my hair about every 3 weeks and I have seen no damage. But when I bumped the ends everyday, way-back-when, all my ends broke off...

I think that the only way air drying would make your hair dry and brittle is if you didn't moisturize it and didn't use a leave in conditioner. Properly combing through with a wide tooth comb is also necessary to remove tangles.

I've never had a problem with airdrying even before I found the hair board. My ends would only look a little dry or frayed if I had splits or if I didn't properly moisturize.