"You just don't have growing hair"....

MrsWatson

Hello all,

I am a newbie, but i've been lurking since 2004! :blush: Finally though, I have paid my dues and here I am as a full fledged member! This question has been on my mind for the past month or two now and since you all are so well versed and knowledgeable about hair growth, i figured this would be the perfect chance for me to get some feedback.

My older sister who graduated from Dudley in NC a few years back has pretty much been my only go to gal for hair issues. As a child, I never had really LONG hair. It might get a few inches past shoulder length, but never really anything astonishing. Anyhoo, I was telling my sister that I was going to pay my $5.00 to the LHCF so that i could get really involved in the posting and challenges, etc., and she laughed at me! She then proceeded to tell me that I didn't have growing hair. Now, I know that genetics have a lot to do with your hair growth, but I always assumed that if you took proper care of your hair, it would continue to grow. Is my assumption wrong? Could it be true that I just don't have "growing" hair and no matter how healthy I keep it, a few inches past the shoulder is as long as i will be able to go?? Any feedback you all can give would be greatly appreciated. I'm usually a very optimistic person and I try to think positively about everything, but i'm not so sure right now. Thanks in advance, ladies!

No that's not true at all. I too have had hair either SL or a few inches past basicly all my life. Now it's between APL and BSL. I also believe if you take care of your hair properly it will grow.

Thanks so much for your response. It gives me so much hope to hear your own firsthand experience.

Don't worry. Your hair continues to grow. And if you take good care of it, you'll be able to retain the length.