Coarse vs. dry hair

CurvesAndCurls

Hey ladies :)

For my fellow type 4 ladies, how does your hair feel when it's retaining moisture?

I've been natural since 09 but BC again in March. I wasn't taking care of my hair before then and although I had reached APL, my hair was damaged. I'm sticking to a regimen now focused on retaining moisture.

I do the LOC method everyday and DC/acv rinse once a week. My hair feels soft all the way up until I put my silk bonnet on for the night.

Will coarse hair always feel "dry" even when it's moisturized? I found one article on the topic but want to hear others experiences. TIA!

kupenda

Nope. When my hair has that coarse, rough feeling, I know it needs to be moisturized. My hair is capable of being soft and yet still be coarse (type 4 traits). But not rough or dry

Am I making sense?

meka72

I'm new to this healthy hair journey and don't know much. I had the same question until I experienced moisturized hair (after finding the right proportions for acv rinses for my hipo hair), recently. My hair became really soft and my products were absorbing into my hair as opposed to evaporating or rubbing off on my silk pillowcase. I know I'm not describing it very well and hope that the knowledgeable ladies will chime in.

But one thing that I'd definitely suggest is to lose the bonnet. My bonnet was absorbing my products from my hair, which left my hair dry. I ditched the bonnet and started sleeping on the silk pillowcase (okay, a piece of silk thrown over my pillow) with my uncovered hair. I've noticed a difference. That said, I'm a TTWWA.

Amarilles