Family member obsessed with my protective styling...

ZapMami

I am sooo frustrated right now. I am natural. Been natural for a long time. Chopped off my hair several times and started over cause I could not figure out what works for my hair. I wore twist and braids with my own hair for a long time and it did not help me retain any length.

So I chopped again..and I figured something out after getting a weave or two that my hair just did better when I left it alone under a wig or weave. So I've been doing the Lady P Deep Moisture thing for a few months now. I've been wigging it up. Because I pay $40 to get my hair conrowed really small, I try to leave it in for as long as I can..4-5 weeks and do it all over again. My hair is about apl.

So I have a family member who is also natural who says every time I see her..two or three times a week. "why don't you take that dayum wig off your head, Why don't you wear your own hair? Why do you need fake hair all the time? I feel sorry for you cause you don't like your own hair. You used to have waist length hair...what happened??" or some variation of this. I repeatedly tell her...Don't worry about my hair, it's a personal choice. I wore my hair out for 4 years in twist and quite honestly I like the wigs cause it's something different. I'm tired of this B thinking she's better than me just cause she wears her two strand twist.

I am sick of her and her comments and I want them to stop. I remove my wig when I get home everyday and I have my routine to care for it. It's not like I'm neglecting my hair. Since starting the deep moisture method I really see a difference in my hair. I just wish she would leave me the hell alone about my hair.

Burbujas

I am sooo frustrated right now. I am natural. Been natural for a long time. Chopped off my hair several times and started over cause I could not figure out what works for my hair. I wore twist and braids with my own hair for a long time and it did not help me retain any length.