Hair texture change

tiajonay

Hello, this is my first time posting. It seems like my hair texture might have changed a little bit. I attached a side by side pic of my new growth 9 weeks post relaxer at different times. The first picture was taken in October 09 and the second was taken in March 10. I'm not sure what could have caused such a change. I stopped getting my hair relaxed bone straight after the first picture, if that matters, but I don't think that would have changed the texture of my new growth. Does anyone have any ideas on what could have caused this?

doll-baby

I once read that hair changes texture about every 7 years, I don't think that it is a drastic change like from 1a hair to 4a hair, but maybe if you started out with 3c hair it could become more like 3b or 4a hair.

On the right side of my hair I have a patch of 3c hair that I don't recall having before so maybe my texture (in that area) changed ?

ms.blue

did you comb your hair in the 2nd pic? B/c in the first pic it looks like the hair was airdried w/o any manipulation and the 2nd pic looks like you comb out your hair.

Last edited:

tiajonay

The first pic was taken three days after a roller set and the second was taken a day after a rollerset. I don't think i combed my hair before any of the pics were taken.

ms.blue

Did you use different products for your rollerset maybe water based. Maybe your hair was just more moisturized in the first pic.

robot.

i don't see any difference except maybe thickness, which would make sense because you have more growth in the second pic as opposed to the first.

BostonMaria

i don't see any difference except maybe thickness, which would make sense because you have more growth in the second pic as opposed to the first.

I was about to say the same thing. You have new growth and as your hair keeps growing it will continue to look different until you do the BC. Well I am assuming you're stretching, not transitioning. Do you normally stretch this long?