how effective are protective styles?

are protective styles worth it?

• Yes, I have done protective styles for an extended period of time and my hair thrived

Votes: 93 58.1%
  • No, I have done protective styles for a long time but it wasn't worth it

Votes: 5 3.1%
  • Yes, I have done protective styles for a short time and have seen results

Votes: 35 21.9%
  • No, I have done protective styles for a short time and I don't think it is worth it

Votes: 5 3.1%
  • No, I have not done protective styles.

Votes: 22 13.8%

• Total voters

bee

Laides, I've been wearing a bun for the past two months. I use a doughnut (tube-sock inside, nylon knee-hi outside). So far I think it's going pretty well but I want to try the baggie method. Are there phony ponies that clip on? I've never purchased one but I want one that will cover the nape area on my left side--that side just has some MAJOR issues. I want to know the versatility of the phony pony but I don't want to go through as much as I do w/ this doughnut.

Country gal

Bumping for Lovely Z to read. We were just talking about the effectiveness of wearing a bun. Her hair looks lovely when it is down. The majority of time it is hidden in a bun or french braid.

CityGirl

Wearing a bun almost every single day has given me length that I have not seen in years. I will admit it does get boring, but it pays off when you get a relaxer and see the length of your hair after protecting your ends for so long with buns etc. It also dispels all of the myths that people have about us not being able to grow our hair.