How often to use Protein Conditioner and Protein treatments?

Sweetcheri

Hi everyone /images/graemlins/smile.gif

I am a newbie but I have been lurking on the site for a while. I am determined to start a hair album soon but in the meantime have really learned alot from all of you wonderful ladies. Me and my hair THANK YOU. But to the question... I know that alot of you ladies use protein treatments and protein conditioners in your regimen but how often? It seems to me that most people use a protein treatment like emergence, before and after a perm and then use protein conditioners like GPB and Keraphix for maitenance. So does that mean that it is safe to use protein conditioners every week or is it safer to use them every other week? I have just added protein conditioners to my regimen and it has a great effect on my hair..I am still a little SCARED of the hardcore protein treatments though. I don't think I will use them unless there is some major breakage. But anyway how often do you use protein conditioners vs protein treatments and WHY?? /images/graemlins/confused.gif

Thanks for the info...

myco

Hi Sweetcheri,

Welcome to the board. I've never used anything as heavy as Aphogee or Emergencee. But I have used Keraphix and GPB. I wash my hair 2x a week, so I like to use the Keraphix every wash for maintenance.

RachelL

Welcome Sweetcheri! I use GPB weekly, and once a month I use either Dudley's Hair Rebuilder or Affirm 5in1 Reconstructor. I've never had a need to use some of the hardcore protein treatments.

fiveleven

I'm new also, T have used Aphogee treatment for damaged hair twice in past 2 years once after I colored my hair and it started breaking and once after having braids redone every two months for six consecutive months. I plan on using a mild protein like AubreyGPB because in the past two weeks I have learned that my hair loves moisture not protein, too much protein makes my hair hard and susceptible to extreme breakage.

Queenie