I need HELP! How to Stay TV Ready but, Keep my natural Healthy Hair Practices?

I have invested one Good strong year of healthy hair care practices.. I big chopped and have been natural since NOV/2008.

I have been struggling to start my career as a tv news reporter since I graduated college in MAY 08. I recently had a promising interview. But, this bussiness is highly competitive and I know I have to be TV ready at all times. Growing out natural hair for me meant not being fly 100% of the time.
For the interview I straitend my hair and it looked decent enough. But, if I'm hired I can't straighten on a regular and retain legnth. I'm just starting out so I don't have the clout or the balls to be on the tube nappy. (It would be nice but, there is a reason we only recently seen Oprah's real hair texture)
I bought a lace front but it doesn't look natural enough for me to be comfortable and confident.

I can wear weaves and retain legnth if I am really carefull and pay close attention to my hair. But, I know my hair will need a break at some point. what do I do during the break?

PLEASE help especially you ladies who have done a good job of retaining w/ weaves? If you check out my fotki I think I go into more details. PLEAZE give advice and leave comments..
http://members.fotki.com/AshleyShavonne/about/

LadyPaniolo

Well, during weave breaks you could wear a half wig. You could rollerset your leave-out area to get it smooth and straight. Wigs are the answer to so many hair problems, lol :infatuated:

Filmatic

I think the lace front does look natural. You could also try a wig with braid.
That way you can wear it onscreen and then take it off when at home. Actresses do that all the time. Good luck!

SelahOco

If you get a good flat iron, your press can last for two weeks. Can you afford to have it professionally straightened weekly, or twice a month?