Is it safe for hair to be damp everyday, all day

dahllia

Im new to the condition wash and rinsing thing and it has done wonders for my hair so far. But I was thinking, is it safe for your hair to always be damp every day? Will constant dampness weaken the hair? I read that in trying to grow your hair long, your ends should almost never be exposed, so air drying for me is pinning it up in a loose bun and I wear protective hairstyles 100% of the time. But this has resulted in my hair being damp all the time. Thanx to anyone who can help me.

Brooke007

Member, Dumbledore's Army
Thanks for bringing this up Dahllia, I've had the same question. My hair is wet all the time too. We know that our hair is most vulnerable to breakage when it's wet, right? So even though we have all our leave-ins, moisturizers, etc. do we need to let our hair air dry before putting it up in a bun?

dahllia

Brooke007 Im so doggone scared of air, I just put it up in a bun or twists pinned up... anything to make sure my ends dont see air. I just pray it doesnt have any adverse affects.

sassygirl125

Professional PJ
I'm transitioning. My hair is dripping and soaking wet when I apply my products, put it in a bun and cover it with a fake afro puff. When I leave the house it's still pretty wet.

I have only been doing cond washes for about a month (maybe two...). So far I haven't noticed any adverse effects from my hair being damp most of the day. It looks and feels better than it has in a looooong time.

Nonie