Newbie here...(long)

jla

Hi there. I’m new. I’ve been lurking for quite a while now, and I finally registered. I’ll share a bit of my hair history. I was natural (in braids continuously) for 2 yrs. My hair grew long (but thin), then I had it relaxed. I was inspired by people who self-relaxed, so I tried self-relaxing for a while. It was always seriously underprocessed and with time the relaxed parts have been basically broken off. I had it relaxed by someone else yesterday, and it didn’t take very well. It’s about 50% relaxed. It’s a mixture of all kinds of textured. Some ends are mostly relaxed, the middle(in most places) is just about natural, and the roots are kind of texturized. I’ve been at a loss of what to do. The good thing is that when I self relaxed, I did it with minimal breakage. Every time I have someone else do my hair, they’re rougher on it than I am, and so it breaks a lot during the touch up process. I need help in the following areas:
STYLES: I really need to know how to style my hair which at this point is closer to natural than relaxed. Any style suggestions (which are not time consuming ) are welcome
SHEEN: What products will add sheen/shine to natural hair without making the hair too oily? I’ve tried WGO, but it stinks to death. I would never wear it in the morning before going to work…

Here are some things I’ve learned/ positives in my hair journey.
-Since I started self relaxing, my hair has grown much thicker. Yes, it’s underprocessed but it’s thick.
-When experimenting, give yourself 1.5 to 2 years to see full benefits. E.g. I started with having my hair relaxed, then I went to self-relaxing, then back to having someone do it for me. I don’t know what the long term effects of salon relaxing are. So for anyone transitioning, or for anyone who has just relaxed, give it time before you decide it’s not working.
-Egg + choleseral + EVOO = very soft hair with minimized breakage.