Relaxed Ladies Hair Regrets and Revelations

Christa438

Relaxed Ladies, Do tell about your mistakes, setbacks, and insights. Although Im not a newbie, Im still curious and always learning something new.

This is a spinny thread off of "Hair Regrets" and "Naturals Worst Mistakes." {I searched for a thread such as this within the last few years but couldn't find it. If I overlooked the thread, please let me know and/or post link. }

:)

Nix08

Relaxed, 4B
No setbacks but I've learned that my relaxed hair:
-enjoys being co washed
-is happiest when I finger comb/detangle
-loves to be steamed and DC'd
-does not need heat to be styled - this was the greatest shocker!

kupenda

Regrets: not fully straightening during the self relaxing process

Revelations: cowashing is fun! DCing is addictive. Mineral oil, petroleum, etc hates my hair and makes it dull, dry, and frizzy. I don't always have to comb, I can use my fingers. Salons aren't the savior to my hair, they were the Antichrist lol. And that it's ok to detangle every other day if it's gonna keep this hair on my head cuz if I go two or three days without detangling the more highly texturized areas, they will get excited and start matting :(

Sent from my iPhone using LHCF

bellebebe

I learned protein and protective styling is necessary for length retention.

Mobile phones are sexy too. <3 IPad ain't got chiz on me.

EbonyCPrincess

Regrets: not stressing to my stylist to NEVER switch relaxers without my permission prior to the service. Sounds obvious but clearly...some don't know the obvious. :-/ Also...long term stretching does more harm than good for me.

Revelations: Hemp oil is the ultimate pre-poo oil! The occasional sew in is my best protective style for retention.

Sent from my DROID3 using DROID3

InBloom

In my new-growth
Regrets

Not finding LHCF earlier
Protein overloading myself out of desperation to stop breakage
Only recently discovering LYE relaxers vs. No lye
Thinking I had to have stick straight hair