Relaxer stretching. Which is easier?

LongHairDreams

Out of curiousity, is it easier to stretch with longer or shorter hair? Also, those who started out with shorter relaxed hair, what did you do to help you stretch? Thanks.

ETA: sorry if it sounds like a silly question

Last edited:

charmtreese

When my hair was shorter I used phony ponies to help me stretch. Now my hair is a little longer, I find it easier to stretch!

Lady Esquire

I barely had chin length hair with my first stretch. I find that longer is much easier. Not only because I have more hair to work with, but the experience over the years makes you hone your stretching muscles.

chebaby

my hair is a little past apl and its very easy for me to stretch. in fact i have been transitioning for 10 months or so.

RegaLady

Harder to stretch with shorter hair. It looks like a fro' in 6-10 weeks. But, I wore half wigs and sew ins to get me through!:drunk:

plastic

when i was a couple of inches past SL .. i stretched using buns and cornrows ...
now that it is a lil past APL .. i stretch using buns and cornrows lol

seriously though - it is easier to stretch with longer hair. I find i can wear my buns loose without having to try and get all of my hair into the ponytail.

Monigirl

It is easier to stretch with long hair than short. When I was stretching with my short hair it was definately harder. Now I am back to shoulder length thank God!! What helped me during my short relaxer stretchs was wearing box braids and often throwing on sensationals instant weaves, or doing cornrow style.

FemmeCreole

Island Gyal
I'd say longer her is easier to stretch with.....when I had SL relaxed hair I used to relax every 8 to 10 weeks and I barely noticed.

Nayeli