So depressed!

angeleyez09

I have been transitioning for six months and 75% of my hair has broken off. I have no choice but to BC. But the worst part is that even my new growth is damaged because I have not been combing. I do not comb on dry hair since I learned not to here. But then when I tried to comb on wash days, I only made it through the ends of my hair because the new growth was so tangled and just snapped off. Nothing worked on detangling my natural hair so I just kept going week after week not really combing it. I guess I also did not have the right comb. I could not find the jilbere comb anywhere and I was trying to use this weird detangling comb I bought from Sallys that did not seem to work because it was the widest tooth comb I could find. My friend just put a weave in my hair and she combed my hair dry and there was so many broken hunks of hair. She was talking about how I might have to shave my head! I really don't know what I am going to do.

toyagurl

Have you done any deep conditioning treatments? I would start as soon as possible. No immediate results but eventually your hair will thank you.

amwcah

Angeleyez09, sorry to hear about your set back. Why are you letting your new growth stay dry? I'm not understanding this part. Why did you let your friend comb dry hair?

Anyway, now that it is weaved up, I suggest purchasing some Luster's S-Curl activator or some water based moisturizer to keep your hair moisturized while under the weave.

Also, Sally's should have the Jilbere comb. I purchased mine from there. Ask a sales associate(sometimes they are clueless though) or try another Sally's.

Leeda.the.Paladin

I'm sorry for the difficulty you've been having. Please don't let your friend comb your hair comb your hair dry anymore. I'm wincing just thinking about it :(

How exactly are you combing your hair? I know you said you comb it on wet hair, but do you take very small sections saturated in conditioner? Do you comb from end to root?