why hair dry after moisturizing?

coolsista-paris

Hello, im trying my best to get the good routine and care for my hair to make to my goal...

there are lots of things im still learning after 3 years of being natural.

i pre poo my hair with oil, wash my hair with shampoo, deep condition it, when i finish all that i dry but leave it damp so i then add my mix of shea butter with oil.

Ive read on internet that shea butter and some oils may cover the hair but not penetrate it.

By the way the problem is the next day, its seems ok...BUT THE ENDS FEEL DRY,BRITTLE, AND BREAK. (ime never gonna get anywhere with this problem).

so should i try coconut oil that penetrates the shaft like eve read everywhere??

then on top of that seal with the shea mix? or this is too much??

Im very lost now. after taking over 3 hours on my wash day i end up the next day with some breakage!!!!!so fustrating.:nono:

*CherryPie*

Shea butter, and anything with shea butter in it dries my hair out!

I don't have any regimen advice. I just wanted to put that out there. Maybe try doing everything EXCEPT THE SHEA PRODUCTS and see what happens.

MsLauren

im have a hard time trying to find a GOOD moisturizer for my dry hair too!!
bumping for answers.....

Pompous Blue

What deep conditioner(s) are you using?
How long do you leave it in?
You do not use a leave-in conditioner before applying the shea butter mix?

I'm 4C natural with fine hair, medium density.

I DC once or twice a week for 20 - 30 minutes under my steamer.
I rinse and do a final apple cider vinegar rinse.
I apply a leave-in conditioner.
And then twist or braid my hair with a gel.

Some leave-in conditioners I'm fond of are:
Karen's Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia
Curl Junkie Smoothing Lotion
Darcy's Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner (You can use this as a deep conditioner and leave-in conditioner; some people co-wash with it, also)
Oyin Handmade Hair Dew
and the list goes on and on.

I also seal my ends with a butter mix or an oil.