Better retention as a natural or relaxed head?

SummerSolstice

it really depends on the person. DIY works great for some people, while others need to limit chemical processes such as relaxers, BKT, pressing, and color to their stylist, and then DIY for inbetween things like DC, rollersets, maintaining a style, etc.

I try to limit my DIY to my natural styles such as twisting and braid outs. I even press my own hair but I've been doing that for about 10 years. When I bkt I will be getting a classmate to do it with my teacher's supervision. My teacher did my highlights.

I have always been natural but I have always had SSK problems. I am trying to see if I retain more length with the BKT

Neek-a-Nator

I definitely get better retention as a natural, I'm just one of those people that relaxers don't agree with MY hair. It's not as thick and it's more prone to breakage. Having said that my relaxed hair does get below APL but not the way I like my natural hair. And trust me I did this 3 times with the last and final time going natural this past April.

rissa146

My hair was so brittle when it was relaxed. I've learned that when your hair is chemically treated it breaks down the bonds in the hair that gave it strength so you can achieve a straighter look, but in the end it weakens the hair terrible. Some can handle it, mine couldn't

lana

I was on LHCF for most of my adult hair journey. I came to the board with natural roots and relaxed ends and I was trying to press it straight cause that's how I like to wear it. My hair grew, but I didn't retain enough length to please me. :)