Celibacy

disgtgyal

A friend of mine posted a noted on celibacy, and I found it to be very thought provoking, and I agree with the author's position...what are your thoughts on the subject

I received three emails from three different women from three different places around the country on one day last week. All of the emails were concerning the same relationship topic: “Dear Steven, can I be celibate and still be in a relationship?” I have been avoiding this celibacy question for a couple of years now because I don’t want to be the cause of a person going to hell. As a Christian, I know that we are supposed to wait until we are married before having sex. Having said that, I find it necessary to keep it real at all times. All times. When keeping it real, discussion points have to be placed in perspective.

The perspective required here is that of the Average Single Sexually Active Man. Let’s call him Sam. The question at hand is, Will Sam give up having sex for you? After careful assessment of the data collection from my previous field research, I have decided that this topic is much more complicated than it initially seems. You know what? Let’s just talk directly to Sam.

Steven James Dixon: Sam, if you are in a relationship with a woman, does she have to have sex with you in order for you to remain faithful and stay in the relationship?”
Sam: Steven, why would I wait and sacrifice sex when I can just get it from somewhere else?
Steven James Dixon: You are right, you can get sex anywhere, but don’t you want more than that out of your woman? Out of your relationship? Sam: Yeah, I want more, I want those things when I get married, but not when I first meet a woman. When I first meet a woman I am thinking about one thing and one thing only.

Steven James Dixon: But through the processing of that line of thinking you will undoubtedly miss out on some good women.