Loving this site!!!

mrsmercery

I am a newbie (this is my first post). I've never committed to a hair care regimen for long, I've had the Dominican doobie a few times when I visit my sister in New York, I've worn weaves and braids, press and curl, straw sets, etc., I have even relaxed my naturally curly, yet dry hair-only to end up here: it's been 11 1/2 months since my last at home relaxer-a stylist cut off a few inches for me through the year, and just last week my niece (a cosmetology student) clipped my ends and my hair is completely even and about 1 1/2 inches below my shoulder. i found this site and I'm inspired to grow my hair back to where it was when I was young (along with my husband's coercing). It seems my hair hasn't been growing as much lately (too much manipulation?), I don't know. Anyhow, i may have 3 inches left of relaxed hair, and I have a Solia flat iron-Biosilk products, an Ion hair dryer, you name it (I could open a salon). I'm looking through all of your Fotki's (who knew there were fotki folders about hair care, let alone a "fotki"), and I want bra strap length or longer by this time next year, any tips? protective style suggesstions?... I don't know the lingo, yes I am still trying to figure out what APL means:spinning: Thanks ladies.

♦K.O♦

Welcome to LHCF.

APL means Arm Pit Length. It is the next "length stop" after your hair passes your shoulders. The length order is shoulder length, arm pit length, bra strap length, mid back, waist, tailbone, hip, etc.

Less manipulation is definitely better! Good luck on your healthy hair journey!

mrsmercery