tangled mess on wash day (long post)

growinstrong

Hello ladies,

I am a newbie here who dont know much about proper hair care and am just getting started on my journey. I have a few questions to ask about your routine when you wash. Everytime I wash, it is very hard to detangle at the roots whether I am 2 week post or 8 weeks post relaxer. What am I doing wrong? :confused: Is there a proper way to shampoo? Oh, I always wash my hair in the shower. This most recent time, I did a pre-poo using ORS mayonnaise (under warm dryer for 30 minutes with plastic cap), shampooed using Creme of Nature shampoo (organic one in the green bottle), DC using Nexxus Humectress (15 minutes under warm dryer for 15 minutes with plastic cap), rinsed out and then re-applied Nexxus Humectress as a leave-in and then oh-no, the detangling part. I always hate this part of the process becuase I always lose a lot of hair, to me anyway :mad:.
After I detangle, I braid my hair into about 6 plates and then air dry. Can anyone suggest anything that may help my detangling process a little more pleasant or am I just doing it wrong with the wrong products? I am currently 6 weeks post and do not comb my hair through the week and I use BT as a growth aid. I usually wait 8 weeks to relax. I dont do co washes because I work 2 jobs and dont have time and I either wash myself or go to the salon every Saturday. I am just looking for some useful tips to follow for Saturday because I am trying to elimiate the need to go to the stylist for washes when I can do that myself. Please help and newbie out. Pleeeeeeeeaaaaas! Oh, can someone who dont comb their hair through the week and wash their hair every 7 days, post the amount of shedding that they normally see on wash day? I'm so sorry for the extremely long post, but I am in dire need of help.:cry3:

angelita842002