what EXACTLY is the Cathy Howse Regimen?

Guapaholic

ok.. so i'm a newbie to this board and the whole proper hair care thing as well. im curious as to what cathy howse's regimen entails (ie: products etc.). i've seen her mentioned on here and how some members have gotten noticeable length using her regimen....and i'd like to take a stab at it. i've been to her website, briefly searched the forum and read a few reviews of the book. i found her homemade conditioner recipe.. and noted to wash and deep condition every 3-4 days. is it that simple?? can someone shed a little light in a detailed summary? i'd check the book out at my local library, but its not there...

TIA

Basically she shampoos every 3-4 days deep conditioning every (or every other) shampoo. She also uses protein treatments for strength.

She never uses a blowdryer, but she uses a curling iron to straighten after airdrying.

She goes to a professional for her relaxers every 8-10 weeks.

She moisturizes daily with a water based product and does NOT oil/grease her scalp.

She does not use brushes.

Edited to add:

I use her regimen for the most part, except I don't moisturize daily. I also do my own relaxers and I don't relax bone straight. I don't use a curling iron, I use a ceramic flatiron. One of my biggest hair fears is the fact that I do use my flatiron after airdrying. I wish that I could cut that step out and one of my goals is to do that. It is FAR too much heat.

I think I am doing alright with this regimen. Some thing I don't do - like she only lathers once I think. I use a chelating shampoo and a moisturizing shampoo lathering multiple times. I need my hair to be clean! :)

Last edited:
She also takes iron pills.

I started out on her regimen, it is pretty basic. You will learn a lot on this board that may be helpful. Most is just fun so I usually end up trying just about everything.

Good Luck!

trimbride said:
She also takes iron pills.