The Art of a good Pre-Poo

joytimes10

I have read about pre-pooing in so many different ways and I'm so confused. So I have some questions for those of you who pre-poo and get better results that when you don't.

What do you use to pre-poo? oil, condish, protein, a mix, ect.

What is your main goal when you pre-poo? Moisture, strenght, both, ect.

For how long do you pre-poo? 20 mins., 1 hr, overnight ect.

TIA. I'm still a newbie trying to learn all the tricks of the LHCF:look:

naturalgurl

I'm glad you posted this. You know what I've realized. There's a fine line between prepoo and DC'ing. When I put EVOO/honey on my hair, baggy and leave from 1 hour to overnight on my hair, is that a DC or prepoo???

ETA~ I know I"ve been here a long time, but still, is the difference using conditioner because that mixture is considered to be a moisturizing condish...

naturalgurl

I thought about heat with the DC. Maybe that's the difference. I'll sit under the thermal heat cap for about 30 minutes but I leave the mixture on as long as I like. So is that the difference? Do people use indirect heat to prepoo?

ETA~ I don't mean to hijack your thread...

PinkPebbles

When I first started out on my hair journey I used to pre-poo with Amla oil. I applied the Amla oil to my scalp and put a plastic cap on for 30 min. Shampoo and then DC with heat.

I used to pre-poo because it helped combat the dryness from shampoo.
Now that I use a moisturizing poo without harsh ingredient there is no need for me to pre-poo.

I may give myself a hot oil treatment occasionally when my scalp is dry and itchy.

TeaKyoo

This is a good topic. I am not a believer in pre-poo. Okay my hair is dirty...I am going to but moisturizer or fortifier in my hair then shampoo it out..then put more conditioner in my hair to do the same thing.