How Much do you spend per month on your hair?

naija24

Hey ladies!!

I'm a young professional in the DMV area and while I make a decent living, after all my bills and schl loans and gas/metro are paid, I barely have enough for myself and savings and for cute things like vanity purchases.

It's believed by some that to be seen as an "adult" in this city, a woman has to be willing to spend some real money on looking good and that includes hair. However you may feel about that comment, how much do you ladies from all over spend per month on your hair? Do you have a hair budget?

I thought I could spend more than $50/mo on hair but now it feels/seems/costs ridiculous to me. Sew ins alone are eating into my grocery budget :(

No wonder more women are going to the dominican salons. $25 FOR A WASH AND SET?? yasss

toaster

I do my hair at home and it looks very professional/neat/cute (whatever look I'm going for that day).

I had to make some investments first: Pibbs dryer ($300) and a stand-up steamer ($140).

The products I use (It's a 10 line, coconut oil, Entwine Butter Cream, and an assortment of butter mixes) range from $10-$50.

So... it depends. Upfront I probably spent $800 on all my hair needs (products, appliances, rollers).

Per month I just buy whatever I've run out of. Most of my products last me 6-8 weeks so as long as they don't all run out at the same time I probably average $30-$50 per month on my hair.

It's worth it for me.

ETA: I also stock up on sales. When Entwine had a sale I bought two butter creams for less than I pay for 1. That will last me 12 weeks. AveYou carries It's a 10 so I always buy $100 worth, use the coupon code, and get it for $75. It can be expensive in the beginning when you're testing out what works, but once you've figured it out it gets better.

Last edited:

Willow00