Masturbation and the Single Christian

Ladies,

thinking about the abstinence challenge, I want to know if masturbation is a sin, I can't seem to find any reference to it in the Bible. Being abstinent to me since I'm just beginning is HARD, sometimes I get sexual urges etc. but I'm trying to stay strong. Am I suppose to go cold turkey and say no to all things sexual or is pleasuring oneself ok?
Abstinent beginner wants to know
thanks

LondonDiva

I think it's gonna be a big fat no to that one too as you have to counjure up sexual scenarios in your mind in order to get to the big O.

Kikootie

Lets think about this. There is a feeling that comes from sex. You get aroused and all of that. With masturbation, you lend you thoughts, eyes, and ears to things that cause you to have those same feelings that you would if you were getting ready to or have sex. It would be those things that God does not approve of because you are no longer thinking of those things that are pure, of good report, etc that God commands us to think on in his word. Masturbation is like a short-cut to sex or takes the place of sex just so a person can quench those feelings and experience the outcome of sex. Instant gratification is the word. Is God involved in this? No. If you examine yourself when you want to masturbate or have sex, your mind probably is not even thinking about God. You gotta cast those thoughts and imaginations down.

sugaplum

Star Shooter
LondonDiva said:
I think it's gonna be a big fat no to that one too as you have to counjure up sexual scenarios in your mind in order to get to the big O.
ITA LondonDiva. :up:

Since I've given my life completly over to God, I no longer have the urge or the need to. :ohwell: Resist the urge with God on your side and all things are possible through Christ. :angel: And say to yourself "Does this activity glorify God?"

Psalms 94:11 - the LORD, knows the thoughts of man, that they are but a breath.

We are to keep His temple Holy at ALL times.